winter s24o

S24O = sub-24 hour overnighter.  The idea – get out for a quick trip – adventure doesn’t always have to be epic.

The plan was for us to head inland, to camp in the barrens.  But nature had other ideas; it warmed up considerably on Saturday and our planned route was mud.  So we headed toward the ocean, down the ever trusty Shoal Bay Road, where the woods keep the trail snow covered for longer.

My Pivot Les Fat, ready for action.  On the bars I have my full winter sleeping kit:  a Hilleberg Soulo tent, a -12C Western Mountaineering sleeping bag, a blue foamie and a Thermorest NeoAir sleeping pad.

My Pivot Les Fat, ready for action. On the bars I have my full winter sleeping kit: a Hilleberg Soulo tent, a -12C Western Mountaineering sleeping bag, a blue foamie and a Thermorest NeoAir sleeping pad.

The three bikes ready to roll.

The three bikes ready to roll.

What's a little bikepacking without a little hike-a-bike?

What’s a little bikepacking without a little hike-a-bike?

Our camping spot.

Our camping spot.

IMG_2578

Tim.

Tim.

Darren.

Darren.

This was a little dry run for Darren and I before we head to Gros Morne next week.  Stay tuned.

10 thoughts on “winter s24o

  1. Love reading your blog and following your pictures on instagram! I’m in the market for a new tent and I was just wondering if you have and tips or suggestions? I’ve been looking at the MSR elixir 3, and I noticed a MSR tent in one of your photos(looks like the elixir 2 maybe?) Just wondering your thoughts on that one? Any ideas would be super helpful! Can’t wait to read about your future adventures!
    Cheers,
    Erica

    • Thanks for the kind words, Erica.

      What tent to buy is a huge question as there are so many variables, but I’ll do my best.

      Understanding where and when you are going to use your tent is the first thing you have to figure out. Broadly speaking, tents are rated to how many seasons you plan to use them in, often marketed as 3-season or 4-season, for example. 3-season tents will serve you well in Spring, Summer and Autumn. They tend to have good ventilation and not be too heavy. A 4 season tent will be able to seal itself up so to reduce drafts and will often have 3 poles or more so as to be able to bear the weight of snow (or strong winds). They also tend to weigh more.

      You’ll also have to decide on your tent size; one person, two person, etc. If you will always be camping with a partner then look at 2 or 3 person tents. Tend to be a soloist? – go with a solo tent.

      The final thing I’ll add is this bit of wisdom: no one ever regrets buying quality. There are reasons why some tents cost $100 and others cost $500.

      If you spend enough time in the outdoors doing enough things you will eventually start accumulating more than one tent. I currently have 4 tents: a 4-person tent from family camping days, a 2 person tent from when friends and I would share a tent, and 2 different solo tents, from when friends and I mutually decided we didn’t want to share a tent any longer and from me doing more solo stuff. My solo tents are a 3-season Tarptent Rainbow and a 4 season Hilleberg Soulo.

      MSR make many good models; the Hubba and HubbaHubba are probably their most popular and easily available. Big Agnes has a strong reputation. Take a look at Tarptent; I’ve been very happy with mine. Also look at Hilleberg – very pricey but a great long-term investment.

      • Great! Thanks so much for all the information and suggestions!
        There certainly is a lot to consider as it is such an important purchase, and big investment. I’m excited to get a great, long lasting tent so my time spent outdoors can be lengthened. I will be sure to look into all your suggestions before I make purchase!

Leave a Reply

