big o manufacturing fenders

St. John’s, Newfoundland is a wet, windy and cold place.  These factors combine to make riding here challenging.  Over the years I’ve figured out ways to eliminate the excuses for not riding – proper clothing, for instance, or DIY tire studding when the trails turned to nothing but ice.  Now I have eliminated one more excuse:  “the trails are too wet”.  Enter full fenders for fatbikes.

Big O Manufacturing fenders get strong reviews on-line so I took the plunge.  They don’t come cheap:  listed at $115 USD for the ones to fit my Pugsley they also charged a flat rate of $60 USD for shipping.  Gulp.  The good news was that after my order was shipped I was refunded $20 USD shipping overcharge.  So, to my door the fenders cost me $225 CDN.  They arrived in less than 10 days.

The fenders and hardware arrived nicely secured in the box.

The fenders and hardware arrived nicely secured in the box.

The quality of the materials is evident; the fenders are strong but flexible, the brackets are quality aluminum and the hardware stainless steel.  The instructions could be a bit better, but that’s a minor quibble.  The front fender requires you to drill two holes and the rear three.  Start to finish for me was about 1.5 hours.

Here is the finished product.

Here is the finished product.

We had just been through a couple of very wet and cold November weeks so the conditions to put these to the test were perfect.  I headed out for a two hour gravel grind on the back roads in The Goulds.  The results were everything I could hope for.  The fenders were solid, they did not rattle and I stayed very clean and dry.

Typical Goulds back road conditions: wet and muddy.

Typical Goulds back road conditions: wet and muddy.

Before fenders legs typically look like this.

Before fenders legs typically look like this.

After fenders. This is what my legs looked like after two hours in very wet andmuddy conditions.

After fenders. This is what my legs looked like after two hours in very wet and muddy conditions.

5 thoughts on “big o manufacturing fenders

  1. Hey Malcolm…the obvious…nice legs, shame about the face! And where’s that Brooks saddle you were talking about?
    I’ve always thought that fenders were underrated but man…that’s a hefty price!

    • I picked up a take-off Selle Italia saddle for 40 bucks to replace the battered one you saw in Yukon. I’ll get a Brooks one of these days. I agree it’s a hefty price but I’ve never regretted buying quality and these fenders are well made. With just a couple of weeks use I’m already pleased I got them. They’ll see the most use in the Spring and late Fall here, when conditions are wet and cold. Think Belgium.

  2. Wow! Those are the nicest fenders that I’ve seen on a fat bike, but then again, most of the fat bike fenders I’ve seen are like jury rigged chloroplast contraptions. 😉

    But yeah, not cheap!

    • H Shawn. I had jury-rigged a set of “semi-full” fenders just like you described and I liked the results enough to make me decide to buy the Big O fenders. The full coverage is just great – I can ride without glasses and nothing gets in my eyes, my arse is dry and my water bottle remains clean. Not cheap but I’m a satisfied customer.

  3. I also bought them for my Mongoose Beast fatbike commuter.
    Like you said, very sturdy fenders and quite light for the size (alu brackets help).
    I had the back fender go into the wheel after a negligence and I still use them (scratches on the fender).
    I am currently designing a front mud flap to protect drivetrain and feet.
    I too don’t regret buying them !

Leave a Reply

