pivot les fat

4th Update (Feb 12, 2016)

I’ve used the Les Fat in a lot of different winter conditions and remain very happy with the bike.  Again, I see the benefits of shorter chainstays (and a small downside).  The benefit:  great traction when standing on the peddles.  The downside: the bike handles so quickly I find it a little squirrelly when the snow is fresh and loose.  One thing I have yet to do is play around with the adjustable dropouts.  The next time we get some fresh snow I’m going to lengthen the wheelbase and see what difference that will make to stabilizing the bike’s handling.

3rd Update (Nov 17,2015)

I’ve now had several months on this bike on a variety of trails and everything I’ve written below still holds true.  I’m now looking forward to winter and seeing what this bike will do on the snow.  I can’t wait.

I have found one shortcoming with using the Les Fat as a trail bike – pedal strike. It would seem to be a function of the large q-factor (the width between the pedals) that is needed so that this bike can run 5 inch tires.  Because of this and my plan to keep this bike as a winter bike only I’m now shopping around for a bike I will use on the trails next year.  My mind right now is set on either a 29+ or 27.5+ hard tail, probably the former because their aren’t too many of the latter.  Stay tuned.

2nd Update (May 27, 2015)

I rode Subnet yesterday.  For those of you who do not know this trail it offers no rest for the wicked – you are either going up or you are going down.  Observations:

* the Pivot Les Fat is an excellent trail bike

* the short chainstays make for a very quick handling bike and easy to loft the front tire

* this bike climbs great – great traction in the rear AND easy to get rider weight forward

* this bike descends well – I was much more confident descending on this than the Pugsley (and a carbon Beargrease I borrowed last year).

* once again I was super happy with the trail chatter this bike absorbed

Update – first ride review (May 22, 2015)

I took the Les Fat out today for it’s maiden voyage in Pippy Park.  The terrain there is rooty, rocky cross-country trails.  I pumped the tires up hard to see what the frame would do with these bumpy conditions.  My impressions:

* there was lots of compliance in the frame.  It did a great job of soaking up the bumps and reducing trail chatter.

* I felt in the bike rather than on the bike.  In fact, it kind of reminded me of a downhill bike but without the super slack head angle.

* it was great to have one finger braking again.  The SRAM Guide hydraulics work just fine.

*  I love having a 1 X 11 drivetrain.  Super quiet.

* this bike accelerates very well.  This is due to the DT Swiss wheel set.

* I have no complaints about the Maxxis Mammoth tires.  They rolled quick with no self-steer.

* the short chainstays make this bike quick and nimble.  The front tire lofts easily.

* the only thing I will change on this bike is the saddle.  It is a very good stock saddle but my Fizik Pave will be going on soon.

I GOT A NEW BIKE!!!!!!

Freeride Mountain Sports on Water Street is now a Pivot dealer and I am the proud owner of their fatbike, the Les Fat.

Freeride Mountain Sports on Water Street is now a Pivot dealer and I am the proud owner of their fatbike, the Les Fat.

One of the great things about the Les Fat is its versatility.

One of the great things about the Les Fat is its versatility.

Lots of room to fit 5 inch tires.

Lots of room to fit 5 inch tires.

Sweet crank by e*thirteen.

Sweet crank by e*thirteen.

SRAM Guide brakes.

SRAM Guide brakes.

Swinger dropouts allow for lengthening/shortening the wheelbase, setting up singlespeed, etc.

Swinger dropouts allow for lengthening/shortening the wheelbase, setting up singlespeed, etc.

I like the thoughtful touches, like a third water bottle mount under the downtube...

I like the thoughtful touches, like a third water bottle mount under the downtube…

...and rear rack mounts. Small things like this increase a bike's versatility.

…and rear rack mounts. Small things like this increase a bike’s versatility.

I went for the wheel upgrade option - a DT Swiss wheelset.

I went for the wheel upgrade option – a DT Swiss wheelset.

IMG_1041

9 thoughts on “pivot les fat

  1. Well, I never thought I would see the day that pron would show up on theslowbiker blog. Shocking – but most entertaining! A very sexy bike, Mr. Simpson!!

  2. Hey Malcolm: Have you now changed your positioning on this bike? On your Pug you seemed to have your bars slightly lower than your seat, but on this new one, they appear to be higher! The reason I noticed this and ask, is because I tend to keep mine lower but this does not seem to be the norm now!! I figure it must be an old school thing!! Seems like people tend to ride bolt upright these days – which feels kind of weird to me!!. When putting on my new CF fork, I cut the steerer tube just a bit too short, so I have no way to go up other than add an extender – NOT!! BTW, how does the CF feel compared to the steel – or is it even fair to compare the two in terms of geometry and intended use?

    • I haven’t changed my positioning – the frame has. You are absolutely correct – on the Pivot my bars and saddle are at almost the same height. I have a couple of spacers under the stem currently but will remove them as soon as I’m sure that is what I want to do. Even with them removed the bars will not be as low as the Pugsley. I do feel more upright on the Pivot and it is a little hard to get used to but I’m confident I’m going to like it. It contributes to that “in the bike” vs. “on the bike” thing I commented on. It is also making me more confident on steep descents, something I badly need. I rode Subnet yesterday and this bike is a GREAT trail bike. I’m happy.

      I love this carbon frame. It dampens trail chatter better than the Pugsley. But I have ridden other carbon frames (e.g. carbon Beargrease) that were harsher than the Pugsley, so not all carbon frames are designed equally.

    • I’ve never had mine on the scales but here is what is on Pivots website:

      The medium LES Fat frame, including the Swinger II dropout system, weighs 3.5lbs / 1587 grams. The carbon fork weighs 1.7lbs / 793 grams. The complete LES Fat with the Pivot build weighs 27.7lbs / 12.56 kg. The complete bike with the DT wheel option weighs 26.6lbs / 12.06 kg.

Leave a Reply

