witless bay line

WBL route

The route to Witless Bay Line follows dirt roads and a snowmobile trail starting in The Goulds. Appx 25 km one way.

The best rides are the ones you never planned.

I headed out solo Saturday morning as my usual partner in crime, Tim C, decided to join the group ride in Pippy Park to test out his new Carbon Beargrease.  We have had a lot of freeze/thaw cycles this month and the day before this ride saw a lot of freezing rain fall, so I wasn’t expecting much from the conditions.  I figured I’d just do my usual loop but it wasn’t long before I discovered things were nice and solid everywhere and I was able to ride a couple of routes I hadn’t been able to travel on yet this year.  That’s when the idea of the ride out to Witless Bay Line came into my head.

The freezing rain made the fields look like coral.

The freezing rain made the fields look like coral.

IMG_0530

There were lots of moose tracks.

DCIM100GOPRO

Conditions were firm and fast.

IMG_0529DCIM100GOPRO

I left the house with only 7 Fig Newtons and a Clif Bar.  Thankfully water was easy to come by.

I left the house with only 7 Fig Newtons and a Clif Bar. Thankfully water was easy to come by.

And just as thankfully there was very little open water on the trail itself.

And just as thankfully there was very little open water on the trail itself.

I tagged Witless Bay Line and returned the way I came.  Usually I ride it as a loop but I wasn't confident that the other route home would be safe as it can have sections of open water unless we have had a cold snap.

I tagged Witless Bay Line and returned the way I came. Usually I ride it as a loop but I wasn’t confident that the other route home would be safe as it can have sections of open water unless we have had a cold snap.

The bogs were super firm and completely rideable.

The bogs were super firm and completely rideable.

The Dillinger 4's saved my ass more than once.  I was very happy to be riding studded tires.

The Dillinger 4’s saved my ass more than once. I was very happy to be riding studded tires.

They're noisy but they work!

They’re noisy but they work!

The barrens can be beautiful on a clear day.

The barrens can be beautiful on a clear day.

The 50 km return trip took me 4.5 hours.

7 thoughts on “witless bay line

  1. We are doing a group snowshoe from here Tonite ! Walt is supposed to show as well

    Sent from my iPhone
    Have a safe day !

  2. Nice work Malcolm! Always great to have a regular old ride turn into a successful epic! I did a XC race in Nelson, NZ today in the rain. First XC race in a long time, a good reminder of why I don’t do them (pain)!! The descents were fun though, slipping around corners and splashing through puddles 🙂

Leave a Reply

