goals

I don’t know when it started, but some time ago I started writing down my goals for biking.  I don’t think it really started as goals but more as a way of remembering ideas I had.  Many of these ideas would hit me as I was surfing Google Earth, looking for possible routes, both on road and off.  I do know that one of the goals/ideas, # 4 on the list below, precedes Google Earth by many, many years.  Essentially, the idea is to bike down Shoal Bay Road then bike ‘n’ hike to Bay Bulls via The Spout, then bike back on the old rail line that runs inland.  And funny enough, though it is probably the oldest idea on the list, I have never done it.

At some point I started writing “done” when I completed the ride and then at some point I wised up even further and started recording the date.  Here it is, completely unedited:

 

Cycling Goals
1. Tour Irish Loop May 24th weekend (DONE!)

2. Tour Cape St. Mary’s July 1st weekend (DONE!)

3. Irish Loop in one day

4. Mtn bike The Spout to Bay Bulls then
back to the Goulds offroad

5. Do a bikepacking trip (again) (DONE!)

6. Follow the dirt road I think leads to
Witless Bay Line

7. Bike the T’railway across NF (DONE!)

8. Ride The Great Divide Trail

9. Circumnavigate the island of NF by bike
and coastal boats (Can’t be done now)

10. Get to NS to mtn bike with Marc (DONE!)

11. Tour the Cabot Trail

12. Ride the Ronde Van Vlaanderen (Belgium)

13. Bike The Dempster Highway

14. Bike the north shore of Quebec

15. Evening mtn bike ride – bring light –
ride from supper ’til midnight – think of a good route for this.

16. Trans-Labrador highway (Probably not worth doing)

17. Irish Loop in Two days (KINDA SORTA DONE)

18. Bell Island day trip

19. Tour to Grates Cove (DONE – AND OFFROAD!)

20. Ride the Wunderstrand

21. Across south coast then back by trailway

22. To trepassey by bike and/or hike in late winter

23. The Spout in winter (DONE – March 15, 2014)

24. Get a fatbike (Ha! Wasn’t even on the list and I got it done)

25. Goulds to Fort Amherst offroad (DONE!)

26. Irish Loop offroad (Done – July, 2014)

27. Bikepack Burin Peninsula (Done – Aug 2014)

28. Bikepack Bonavista Peninsula (Done – Aug 2014)

29. Across NF in winter

30. Circumnavigate Miquelon by fatbike

31. Iceland

32. Renews to Fermuese on old track then back by Kingmans Cove Road in winter

10 thoughts on “goals

  1. Ah hah!! I see that you would like to ride the Tour of Flanders? There must be a bit “skinny tire rider” left in you somewhere! LOL

    That’s an impressive list!! Keep’er goin’!!!

    Cheers,

    Sean

      • Hey Malcolm: I don’t suppose you still have the champagne-coloured Miele with the Suntour Superbe gruppo? (If my memory serves me correctly!) I’m still on my old Miele Beta with Shimano 600 – LOL!! I am a very one-track minded person, and right now I have swayed away from the kayaking and have rediscovered the bike after a 20+ year hiatus!! And loving every minute of it!!

        Watched the video and really enjoyed it!! My kayaks are very low volume and are already pretty close to becoming submarines (especially if I gain any more weight), so carrying a fat bike is not an option. Hahahaha!!

        I rode Darren McDonald’s fat bike at our kayaking retreat back in May 2013. We had about 6 inches of fresh snow on the ground and it was a hoot!! I can certainly see myself having one sometime!!

        Cheers and keep up the great blog!!!

        Sean

      • Nothing wrong with your memory! That Miele is long gone but I remember it fondly. That Superbe Pro was a great gruppo.
        Get yourself a fatbike and then we’ll each get a packraft and we’ll explore this island properly. Glad to hear you are back on the bike. Nothing like it.

  2. That’s quite a list Malcolm, hope you are starting to chip away at some of the goals! I was initially surprised by goal 15 as it seems such an easy one to achieve, I thought I had done it (riding at night) countless times but then I realised that I’ve only ever gone out after my evening meal for up to two hours when it’s been dark. I’m thinking now that I will have to use this idea as a winter motivational tool (I also want to ride from dawn until dusk).

    Iceland eh?! That’s been my dream for many years, now that I have a fat bike, I’m thinking of a trip in 2016 to cross the interior. It would appear that this year was the year to go to Iceland, as I’ve read countless articles on it (Salsa cycles published several blogs on Iceland during October, looked awesome).

    Good luck with the list, although something tells me you’ll never complete it as you’ll keep adding to it 🙂

    Simon

Leave a Reply

