bikepacking INTO THE avalon WILDerness reserve

Red = dirt road         Yellow = shoreline I rode

Pink = hike-a-bike     Purple arrow (barely visible) = campsite

Riding in Cape Pond Road was easy and only took 1.5 hours to reach the pond itself.  I took the time to explore little side roads and found this bridge that took me to a spot I’d like to camp at in the future.

Cape Pond is the source of LaManche River and it is dammed.  I had to cross the dam to get to the south side of the pond where I intended to ride. No, I did not ride this!

You can see the shoreline that I rode and in the background a feature called “The Drop”.

I found a great place to camp after another 1.5 hours of riding the shore.  This piece of land stuck out into the pond and gave great views.

There was also TONS of driftwood!

I had a great supper, one of my trail favourites; anybody who has ever hiked with me will know this one: macaroni, butter, Parmesan and bacon.  I like it so much I often have it for breakfast.

After supper I mixed up a rum and Crystal Lite, started a fire and enjoyed my surroundings.

The next morning I awoke to this.

Leaving camp I headed south overland to Mount Carmel Pond.

Looking back on my campsite.

Riding the shore of Mount Carmel Pond.  Note I am wearing my flash orange hat instead of my helmet.  The risk of getting shot (it is hunting season, after all) far outweighed the risk of falling and hitting my head.

I rode out Horse Chops Road and when I got to the highway I backtracked to Cape Broyle for food and, ahem, beer.  I then rode to LaManche Park which was closed for the season.  I camped on the beach next to the public swimming area.

I rode the next morning to the suspension bridge in LaManche to pick up the East Coast Trail which I rode to Bay Bulls.

From Bay Bulls it was a short ride back home aided by a lovely tailwind.

9 thoughts on “bikepacking INTO THE avalon WILDerness reserve

  1. Looks like a great ride and some great weather, although the flora suggest a damp environment. Fatbikes are great for imagining new places to ride. Is that a Necromancer Pugs or a Moonlander?

    • Ohhh, it can get damp here, really damp.

      I’m riding a stock Necromancer, no modifications yet. I’ll be drilling out the rims soon enough and swapping out the toobs for standard mtb tubes. I see that wheel weight was nagging at you and you evolved to Marge Lites.

      • The Large Marge rims are excessively heavy, so the Marge Lites reduced the weight of each wheel by a full pound. They have held up well after several thousand miles of rough riding and touring loads. Great to hear about the upcoming Revelate framebag and Porcelain Rocket seatbag. That will be a great touring system.

Leave a Reply

